Internship Reflection

11 06 2009

This summer I am interning with Rawle Murdy, a marketing communications firm.  I told myself that I was going to try and document my daily experiences on my blog, like a journal.  I did not realize how busy I would be.  So I am making up for all the blog posts I missed with a giant summary.

Since beginning my internship, I have already learned a lot.  I have written news releases, pitched those releases, compiled media lists and have done research for clients.  I have learned a lot from completing these tasks.

One of the most important lessons I have learned thus far is that flexibility is essential.  There are days when you are working on an assignment and something very important comes up and you have to switch gears to focus your attention on that.  You must be able to jump on that task and complete it with the best of your ability.  This is something that is harder for some than others depending on work ethic and personality type.

Also, you need to be open to criticism.  An internship is a learning experience.  Soak up all the advice and critiques you are giving so you can use this information to learn.  I feel like I am constantly asking for comments and criticism.  “Tell me what to do differently.” “Tell me what you think.”  This has really helped me to further my learning and make me feel more comfortable completing certain tasks.

I am going to continue to update you on my learning experiences during my summer internships.  If you have any questions or suggestions for me please comment.

Actions

Information

3 responses

11 06 2009
Dr. V

Glad to see you are enjoying your internship, Alyssa. Your second point is a good one, and I think you have the right attitude. I know it’s hard to take criticism and we all love to feel we know everything and are appreciated (OK, speaking for myself here). But you’re right that this criticism helps you learn and grow. This is an attitude I hope to learn from you and bring into my life. Thanks for the update!

22 06 2010
bhharrin

Thanks for posting these blogs! I have one more year of school, with an emphasis in PR, and then it’s off to find Internships and everything that comes with it. It’s good to hear these helpful tips.

24 08 2010
amaute

I am glad I could help. I haven’t been keeping up with my blog lately, but I am about to start soon so keep posted for more posts!

Leave a Reply

