Good PR

5 11 2008

As I waited in line for 2 1/2 hours to vote yesterday, I heard that with an “I voted!” sticker you would receive a free cup of coffee from Starbucks.  I decided to research this a little further and found the following commercial. 

I though this was an excellent example of good PR.  Not only is Starbucks encouraging people to vote, but it is creating relationships with millions of people.  Starbucks is sharing the message that they care about our country and the people of it.  They want people to be rewarded for voting and encourage people to care. 

After further research I found that Starbucks also is on twitter.  I read through some of their recent tweets and discovered that they were also promoting their vote campaign through twitter.  Starbucks had someone tweet on their behalf and actually had conversations with people.  I was extremely impressed to see the engagement with people instead of promoting themselves simply by tweeting advertising statements.  Starbucks understands that people want to have conversations on twitter not receive spam.  I think the PR team at Starbucks is doing an excellent job of engaging in meaningful conversations and forming relationships with its publics.

Actions

Information

One response

7 11 2008
prprofmv

Nice example, Alyssa, and I hope you and other students will follow @Starbucks on twitter to see how they use it for PR/community engagement

Leave a Reply

